SMEC South Africa, which was established in 1947 as VKE, has a long track record as a top consulting engineering company within the transport sector. Today the firm is a multidisciplinary global entity delivering outstanding physical and social infrastructure services to clients and communities around the world in the power and energy, roads and highways, water and environment, hydropower, dams, tunnels and geotechnics, management and advisory services, public-private partnerships and transaction advisory services, urban development, structures, rail and metros and asset management sectors. SMEC South Africa has adopted a Transformation Charter, demonstrating the firm’s commitment to a diversity strategy. The company has an active bursary scheme as part of its commitment to the development of young engineers. Community outreach programmes focus primarily on education and include support for the Devland Community Centre in
Soweto, the Adopt-A-School Foundation, and the SA Medical and Education (SAME) Foundation. SMEC South Africa has completed iconic projects in recent years including the Mount Edgecombe and Balito Interchanges, the Tshelimnyama and Isando Pedestrian Bridges, and viaduct design and feasibility studies for the Gautrain. While investment in infrastructure has slowed within South Africa in the last few years, SMEC South Africa has been involved with projects across the continent, in partnership with other SMEC Africa offices. These include power and energy infrastructure for a mine in Botswana; powerlines in Tanzania; drainage infrastructure for Kampala, Uganda; a dam project in Sudan; and a new greenfields brewery and bottling plant in Ghana. Some of SMEC South Africa’s projects have been recognised in recent years as award winning by both CESA and SAICE.

In partnership with

Bloemfonteinbloemfontein@smec.com+27 51 411 8700http://www.smec.com
Cape Towncapetown@smec.com+27 21 417 2900http://www.smec.com
Durbandurban@smec.com+27 31 277 6600http://www.smec.com
East Londoneastlondon@smec.com+27 43 721 1910http://www.smec.com
Georgegeorge@smec.com+27 44 873 5029http://www.smec.com
Johannesburgjohannesburg@smec.com+27 11 369 0600http://www.smec.com
Kimberleykimberley@smec.com+27 53 832 5150http://www.smec.com
Pretoriapretoria@smec.com+27 12 481 3800http://www.smec.com
Rustenburgrustenburg@smec.com+27 14 592 2834http://www.smec.com
Polokwanepolokwane@smec.com+27 15 296 1138http://www.smec.com
COMPANY CV

Chief Executive Officer: Kostas Rontiris
Marketing & Communications Manager: Anne van Vliet
Human Resources Manager: Tumelo Molope

BEE verification: Empowerdex, Level 3

Black Empowerment:
• Shareholding: 5–25%
• Total staff: 47%
• Senior management: 5–25%

Gender Empowerment:
• Senior management: 5–25%
• Total staff: 35%

Year founded: 1947
Branches: 11
Subsidiaries: SOILLAB
Holding company: SMEC INTERNATIONAL

Share This