SMEC South Africa

SMEC South Africa is a progressive, multidisciplinary engineering and infrastructure solutions company. We value our people and are continuously evolving in: our thinking, our approach, our technologies and our systems.

SMEC has been successful in providing infrastructure solutions to clients and communities for over 70 years. Prior to becoming SMEC, the firm was formerly known as Vela VKE. We have been instrumental in the development of a large number of iconic projects in South Africa.

We have 10 offices in South Africa, which allow us to service clients throughout the country with ease, and we have technical capacity to deliver on large infrastructure projects.

SMEC South Africa supports and actively promotes government’s objectives to enhance the economic participation of Black South Africans in the economy. We have continuously ensured that transformation is engrained in our culture and our business for many years. We form strategic partnerships with companies that share the same transformation objectives as ourselves, and play a key role in ensuring the development and sustainability of companies that we uplift and empower. We are currently a Level 1 B-BBEE accredited company.

Our Corporate Social Investment initiatives cover education, community development, enterprise development, environmental awareness and job creation projects.

Bloemfonteinbloemfontein@smec.com+27 51 411 8700http://www.smec.com
Cape Towncapetown@smec.com+27 21 417 2900http://www.smec.com
Durbandurban@smec.com+27 31 277 6600http://www.smec.com
East Londoneastlondon@smec.com+27 43 721 1910http://www.smec.com
Georgegeorge@smec.com+27 44 873 5029http://www.smec.com
Johannesburgjohannesburg@smec.com+27 11 369 0600http://www.smec.com
Kimberleykimberley@smec.com+27 53 832 5150http://www.smec.com
Pretoriapretoria@smec.com+27 12 481 3800http://www.smec.com
Port Elizabethportelizabeth@smec.com+27 41 363 6777http://www.smec.com
Polokwanepolokwane@smec.com+27 15 296 1138http://www.smec.com

COMPANY CV

Chief Executive Officer: Kostas Rontiris
Marketing & Communications Manager: Anne van Vliet

BEE verification: Level 1 BEE

Black Empowerment:
• Shareholding: 81,75%
• Total staff: 57%
• Senior management: 5–25%

Gender Empowerment:
• Senior management: 5–25%
• Total staff: 39%

Year founded: 1947
Branches: 10
Subsidiaries: SOILLAB
Holding company: Surbana Jurong